Google Gemini vs ChatGPT is mostly a question of where you already work. If your day runs on Gmail, Docs and Drive, Google builds Gemini into those apps; if not, the choice comes down to features, limits and price. This free picker asks seven quick questions and recommends one, with plain reasons and a note on how sure it is.
Below the pick, every Gemini and ChatGPT plan sits side by side, from free to the top tiers and work plans: price, what’s included, usage limits in each company’s own words, and which features each plan includes. The facts come from Google’s and OpenAI’s own pages and are re-checked every day by our AI Plan Watch.
Free 1-minute picker
Gemini or ChatGPT: which one fits you?
Answer seven quick questions about what you will use it for, your budget and the apps you live in. You get a pick with the reasons and how sure it is, then every Google Gemini and ChatGPT plan side by side, with prices and limits taken from each company's own pages.
Get an alert when ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini prices or limits change
Join the free weekly HOW TO // AI newsletter, which covers AI plan price and limit changes from our daily Plan Watch. You also unlock your try-both test kit on this page right away.
Done. Your test kit is unlocked below, and you are on the weekly HOW TO // AI newsletter, which covers AI plan and price changes.
Free. Unsubscribe any time.
Free and paid plans, side by side
Each tab lines up the closest Gemini and ChatGPT plans at a similar price. Blue Yes means included, amber Limited means capped or partial, orange No means not included, and grey Not stated means the company doesn't say. US list prices before tax, from each company's own pages, re-checked daily by our AI Plan Watch.
| Free | Gemini Free | ChatGPT Free |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | Free |
| In short | Everyday help from Google AI for work, school or home, with a Google Account and no subscription. | Free ChatGPT for everyday tasks, with limited access to tools like uploads, images, voice and deep research. |
| What is included |
|
|
| Deep research | Limited | Limited |
| Agents Differs | No | Limited |
| Image creation Differs | Yes | Limited |
| Video creation | No | No |
| Scheduled tasks Differs | Not stated | No |
| Memory Differs | Yes | Limited |
| Voice chat Differs | Yes | Limited |
| App connectors Differs | Yes | Limited |
| Chats not used for training by default | No | No |
| Usage limits, in their words | "Standard limits". "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." Context window: "32k tokens". "For users without a Google AI plan, some features that require more compute resources, like Deep Research, may be unavailable during periods of high demand." | Unlimited text chats subject to abuse guardrails. / "Free users have unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse-prevention safeguards. File uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools have separate usage limits." |
| Billing and fine print | Free with a Google Account. Auto model selection by default; most prompts go to Flash-Lite. Personal Intelligence (memory/personal context) is a beta for 18+, not in the EEA, Switzerland, the UK or Nigeria. | Ads may appear on Free (ad test started in the U.S. on February 9, 2026). |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 on gemini.google | Oct 23, 2026 on chatgpt.com |
| Under $10 | Google AI Plus | ChatGPT Go |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $4.99/month | $8/month |
| In short | Entry paid tier: more access to Gemini than free plus video generation, Daily Brief and Gemini in Gmail, aimed at everyday productivity and creativity. | Low-cost plan with more messages, uploads, image creation, voice and memory than Free. |
| What is included |
|
|
| Deep research Differs | Yes | Limited |
| Agents Differs | No | Limited |
| Image creation | Yes | Yes |
| Video creation Differs | Yes | No |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Voice chat | Yes | Yes |
| App connectors Differs | Yes | Limited |
| Chats not used for training by default | No | No |
| Usage limits, in their words | "2x higher than standard limits". "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." Context window: "128k tokens". Models: Flash-Lite and Flash; Pro model not included for AI Plus. | "Usage is subject to plan limits, abuse guardrails, and temporary restrictions during high demand." Voice: "Go: Up to 3 hours with GPT-Live-1 mini, replacing GPT-Live-1 access." |
| Billing and fine print | $4.99/mo is the 400 GB plan. Google One also sells 'Google AI Plus (2 TB)' at $9.99/mo or $99.99/year ($8.33/mo). No annual price found for the 400 GB plan. Formerly named Google AI Premium. Available in more than 160 countries and territories, including the US. Daily Brief is US only. | billed monthly; no annual billing; plan may include ads Available in the United States. Go is offered in all ChatGPT supported countries, and the supported-countries list includes 'United States of America'. US pricing page shows $8/month. Ads may appear on Go (U.S. ad test began February 9, 2026). |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 on gemini.google | Oct 23, 2026 on chatgpt.com |
| Around $20 | Google AI Pro | ChatGPT Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $19.99/month or $16.67/month billed yearly | $20/month |
| In short | Main paid tier for power users: Gemini 4 Argon and 3.1 Pro, 4x usage, Tasks in Gemini, Chrome auto browse, Gemini in Gmail/Docs, plus coding tools and 5 TB storage. | The main paid plan for individuals: advanced reasoning models, more usage, deep research, projects and tasks, and ChatGPT Work on all devices. |
| What is included |
|
|
| Deep research | Yes | Yes |
| Agents | Yes | Yes |
| Image creation | Yes | Yes |
| Video creation Differs | Yes | No |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Voice chat | Yes | Yes |
| App connectors | Yes | Yes |
| Chats not used for training by default | No | No |
| Usage limits, in their words | "4x higher than standard limits". "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." Context window: "1 million tokens". "If you have a Google AI subscription and reach your limit, you can continue your conversation with Flash-Lite." | "Limits apply" / "To ensure a smooth experience for all users, Plus subscriptions may include usage limits such as message caps, especially during high demand. These limits may vary based on system conditions." Voice: "Plus: Up to 3 hours with GPT-Live-1." |
| Billing and fine print | Annual: $199.99/year (Google One shows 'That's $16.67 / month'). Includes 5 TB storage. Available in more than 150 countries and territories. Tasks in Gemini not in the EEA, Nigeria, Switzerland or the UK. Chrome auto browse US and India only. | billed monthly; no annual billing |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 on gemini.google | Oct 23, 2026 on chatgpt.com |
| Around $100 | Google AI Ultra (5x) | ChatGPT Pro 100 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $99.99/month | $100/month |
| In short | Google's top consumer tier for the most dedicated users: highest model access, Gemini Agent, priority access to new features, Project Genie, YouTube Premium and 20 TB storage. | Entry Pro tier for heavy users: Pro reasoning (GPT-6 Astra), longer Codex and ChatGPT Work sessions, dots, and maximum deep research and memory. |
| What is included |
|
|
| Deep research | Yes | Yes |
| Agents | Yes | Yes |
| Image creation | Yes | Yes |
| Video creation Differs | Yes | No |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Voice chat | Yes | Yes |
| App connectors | Yes | Yes |
| Chats not used for training by default | No | No |
| Usage limits, in their words | "$99.99 / month: 5x higher usage limits vs. AI Pro". "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." Context window: "1 million tokens". | "Unlimited subject to abuse guardrails." / "GPT-6 Pro has usage limits. A Pro subscription does not include unlimited use of the GPT-6 Pro model." / "On Pro $100, both models draw from one weekly allowance." Voice: "Pro ($100/month): Up to 15 hours with GPT-Live-1." |
| Billing and fine print | Entry Ultra tier, shown as 'Starting at $99.99 / month'. No annual price found on Google pages. Includes 20 TB storage. Available in more than 150 countries. Gemini Agent US only, English only. YouTube Premium individual in 40+ countries. | billed monthly; no annual billing; lowest of 3 Pro tiers Dots (always-on agents) exclude the EEA, Switzerland and the UK for Pro at launch. |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 on gemini.google | Oct 23, 2026 on chatgpt.com |
| $150 and up | Google AI Ultra (20x) | ChatGPT Pro 200 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $199.99/month | $200/month |
| In short | Same Ultra feature set with the highest usage limits (20x AI Pro), more Flow credits, 30 TB storage and the top Antigravity limits. | Middle Pro tier with more included usage than Pro 100, the same Pro features, and unlimited GPT-Live-1 voice. |
| What is included |
|
|
| Deep research | Yes | Yes |
| Agents | Yes | Yes |
| Image creation | Yes | Yes |
| Video creation Differs | Yes | No |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Voice chat | Yes | Yes |
| App connectors | Yes | Yes |
| Chats not used for training by default | No | No |
| Usage limits, in their words | "$199.99 / month: 20x higher usage limits vs. AI Pro". "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." Context window: "1 million tokens". | "Pro 200 includes more usage than Pro 100." / "On Pro $200, when you reach your GPT-6 Pro weekly limit, ChatGPT automatically switches to GPT-5.6 Thinking at Medium." / New subscribers not eligible for grandfathering "include a lower usage allowance." |
| Billing and fine print | Higher Ultra tier. No annual price found on Google pages. Includes 30 TB storage. Available in more than 150 countries. Gemini Agent US only, English only. YouTube Premium individual in 40+ countries. | billed monthly; no annual billing; more usage than Pro 100 Dots (always-on agents) exclude the EEA, Switzerland and the UK for Pro at launch. |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 on gemini.google | Oct 23, 2026 on help.openai.com |
| For teams | Google Workspace Business Standard | ChatGPT Business (Standard seat) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $16.80/user/month or $14/user/month billed yearly | $25/user/month or $20/user/month billed yearly |
| In short | Cheapest Workspace plan with Gemini built into Docs, Sheets, Meet and Drive plus 'Pro' Gemini app access, scheduled actions and video generation. | Self-serve shared workspace for teams (formerly ChatGPT Team), with admin controls and no training on business data by default. |
| What is included |
|
|
| Deep research | Yes | Yes |
| Agents Differs | Limited | Yes |
| Image creation | Yes | Yes |
| Video creation Differs | Yes | No |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes | Yes |
| Memory Differs | Not stated | Yes |
| Voice chat Differs | Not stated | Yes |
| App connectors | Yes | Yes |
| Chats not used for training by default | Yes | Yes |
| Usage limits, in their words | Gemini app: "Pro access to features & models with enterprise-grade security & privacy". Pro model: "Up to 25 prompts per 4 hours". Thinking: "Up to 300 prompts / day". Deep Research: "20 reports / day". Context: "1 million". Video: "Up to 3 videos / day using Omni". Scheduled actions: "Up to 10 active actions at a time". | "Unlimited subject to abuse guardrails." / "Virtually unlimited access applies to Instant chat and remains subject to safeguards against misuse. It does not make reasoning, Pro, ChatGPT Work, Codex, or other tools unlimited." / "Business Standard includes 15 Pro messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro." |
| Billing and fine print | Per user per month, before tax. $16.80 on monthly billing; $14.00 with a 1-year commitment ('Save 16%'), billed monthly. Intro discounts for new customers not reflected. Max 300 users. Business Plus ($26.40 monthly / $22 annual) and Enterprise also include Gemini. Google also sells a separate Gemini Enterprise product (from $21/seat/month) on https://gemini.google/subscriptions/. Gemini app requires users 18+. Tasks in Gemini and Personal Intelligence are not available on work accounts. | per user per month; $20 billed annually, $25 billed monthly; minimum 2 seats total (Standard and/or Premium); for teams of 2–200 Business help says USD pricing applies 'For most countries'; pricing may vary by country and currency. |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 on workspace.google.com | Oct 23, 2026 on chatgpt.com |
Who should pick which
Pick Gemini if
- You live in Gmail, Docs and Drive. Google AI Pro lists "Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Vids, and more".
- You want to make videos. Google's AI plans from Google AI Plus up include video generation. ChatGPT's plans list no video creation.
- You want the cheapest paid plan. The cheapest paid Gemini plan is Google AI Plus at $4.99/month; ChatGPT's is ChatGPT Go at $8/month.
- You would rather pay yearly. Google AI Pro is $16.67/month billed yearly, and OpenAI doesn't offer yearly billing for ChatGPT Plus.
- You pay Google for storage. Google AI Pro includes "5 TB of cloud storage; family sharing with up to five others".
- You work with very long documents. Google lists a 1 million token context window for Google AI Pro and Ultra.
Pick ChatGPT if
- You chat a lot without paying. OpenAI says: "Free users have unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse-prevention safeguards. File uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools have separate usage limits." Google says of Gemini without a plan: "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit."
- You want an agent on a free or low-cost plan. ChatGPT Free and Go include limited agent access; Gemini's free plan and Google AI Plus don't include agents.
- You want a coding agent without paying much. ChatGPT lists "Limited Codex access" on its free plan; Google's coding tools start with Google AI Pro.
- Your work tools are a mix. ChatGPT Business (Standard seat) lists "Connect to Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub, Microsoft 365, and more".
For company data, use a work plan. Google Workspace Business Standard at $16.80/user/month and ChatGPT Business (Standard seat) at $25/user/month both keep business data out of model training by default.
Sources: plan facts from gemini.google, chatgpt.com and their help centers, through our daily AI Plan Watch, oldest check October 23, 2026. Every AI plan: AI chatbot pricing compared. For information only, not buying advice: confirm prices on each company's site before you pay. HOW TO // AI is independent and not affiliated with Google or OpenAI.
How to use the Gemini vs ChatGPT picker
- Pick up to three things you’ll use it for most, like research, images, video or long documents.
- Set what you’d spend each month, or pick “My company pays” for work plans.
- Say whether you live in Google’s apps, Microsoft 365 or neither, and whether you pay Google for storage.
- Read the reasons, then check the plan table. It jumps to the plans in your budget.
- Still close? Unlock the try-both test kit and run the same prompts in both.
Is Gemini better than ChatGPT?
Neither is better for everyone, and plan pages can’t tell you whose answers you’ll prefer. They do show real differences, as of October 18, 2026:
- Google’s apps: Google AI Plus puts Gemini in Gmail, and Google AI Pro adds Docs. Google Workspace business plans include the Gemini app.
- Video: Google’s AI plans from AI Plus up include video generation. ChatGPT’s plans don’t list video creation.
- Price: Gemini’s cheapest paid plan, Google AI Plus, costs less than ChatGPT Go, and Google AI Pro has a yearly price. OpenAI doesn’t offer yearly billing for Go, Plus or Pro.
- Storage: Google’s AI plans include cloud storage across Gmail, Drive and Photos, 5 TB with AI Pro.
- Long documents: Google lists a 1 million token context window for AI Pro and Ultra, and 32k tokens without a plan.
- Free plan limits: OpenAI says ChatGPT Free and Go include unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse safeguards. Google says Gemini’s free limit refreshes every five hours until you reach a weekly limit.
- Agents on cheap plans: ChatGPT Free and Go include limited agent access; Gemini’s free plan and AI Plus don’t.
Google AI Pro vs ChatGPT Plus
The main paid plans are a cent apart in the US ($19.99 and $20 a month as of October 18, 2026). Both include deep research, agents, image creation, scheduled tasks and app connectors. Google AI Pro adds video generation, 5 TB of storage and Gemini inside Gmail and Docs, and it can be paid yearly for less. ChatGPT Plus includes Codex, OpenAI’s coding agent; Google AI Pro lists its own coding tools, Jules and Antigravity.
Gemini or ChatGPT without paying?
Gemini’s free plan lists image generation, Deep Research and Gemini Live voice chats, with a limit that refreshes every five hours. ChatGPT’s free plan offers unlimited everyday text chats and limited access to images, deep research, voice and an agent; OpenAI says ads may appear on Free and Go. If you chat all day without paying, ChatGPT’s text limit is the more generous one on paper.
Privacy: do Gemini and ChatGPT train on your chats?
On personal plans, both can use your chats to improve their AI. Google says it uses your activity to develop and improve its services, including training generative AI models. OpenAI says it may use conversations to improve its models, and you can opt out in settings. For company data, use a work plan: Google Workspace and ChatGPT Business don’t train on your business data by default.
Related on HOW TO // AI
- ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini: the three-way comparison, by use case.
- Gemini pricing and ChatGPT pricing: every plan, with usage limits.
- Gemini Free vs Google AI Pro: what the upgrade actually adds.
- AI chatbot pricing compared: every major AI plan, checked daily.
Checked against gemini.google/subscriptions and OpenAI’s help center (ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Go and ads) on October 18, 2026, plus Google’s Gemini help center and chatgpt.com/pricing as read by our AI Plan Watch on October 17, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Is Gemini better than ChatGPT?
Neither is better for everyone. Gemini fits best if you live in Gmail, Docs and Drive, want video generation or already pay Google for storage. ChatGPT fits best if you chat a lot on the free plan, want an agent on a low-cost plan or use a mix of non-Google tools.
Is Gemini free?
Yes. Gemini has a free plan with a Google account, with a usage limit that refreshes every five hours until you reach a weekly limit. Paid Google AI plans raise the limits and add features such as video generation.
Is Google AI Pro the same price as ChatGPT Plus?
Nearly. Google AI Pro is $19.99 a month and ChatGPT Plus is $20 a month in the US as of October 18, 2026. Google AI Pro also has a yearly price, while OpenAI doesn't offer yearly billing for Plus.
Can ChatGPT make videos like Gemini?
Not on its current plans. ChatGPT's plans list no video creation, and OpenAI discontinued the Sora web and app experiences in April 2026. Google's AI plans from AI Plus up include video generation.
Does Gemini work inside Gmail and Docs?
Yes, on paid plans. Google AI Plus lists Gemini in Gmail, and Google AI Pro lists Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Vids and more. Google Workspace business plans include Gemini too.
