Copilot vs ChatGPT: Which Should You Use? (Free Picker)

Copilot vs ChatGPT is really a question about Microsoft 365. If you already use Word, Excel and Outlook, or your employer runs Microsoft 365, Copilot is built into apps you already have. If not, the choice comes down to features, limits and price. This free picker asks six quick questions and recommends one, with plain reasons and a note on how sure it is.

Below the pick, every Microsoft Copilot and ChatGPT plan sits side by side, from free to the top tiers and work plans: price, what’s included, usage limits in each company’s own words, and which features each plan includes. The facts come from Microsoft’s and OpenAI’s own pages and are re-checked every day by our AI Plan Watch.

Free 1-minute picker

Copilot or ChatGPT: which one fits you?

Answer six quick questions about what you will use it for, your budget and whether you use Microsoft 365. You get a pick with the reasons and how sure it is, then every Microsoft Copilot and ChatGPT plan side by side, with prices and limits taken from each company's own pages.

Try an example:
What will you use it for most?Pick up to 3.
What would you spend each month?
Would you pay for a year up front to save?Only matters if you pay.
How much will you use it?
Do you use Microsoft 365?
Will you paste in work or private details?

Get an alert when ChatGPT, Copilot or Claude prices or limits change

Join the free weekly HOW TO // AI newsletter, which covers AI plan price and limit changes from our daily Plan Watch. You also unlock your try-both test kit on this page right away.

Free. Unsubscribe any time.

Free and paid plans, side by side

Each tab lines up the closest Copilot and ChatGPT plans at a similar price. Blue Yes means included, amber Limited means capped or partial, orange No means not included, and grey Not stated means the company doesn't say. US list prices before tax, from each company's own pages, re-checked daily by our AI Plan Watch.

FreeCopilot FreeChatGPT Free
PriceFreeFree
In shortMicrosoft's free Copilot app for general questions, writing help, web answers and image creation. Microsoft pitches it at people trying AI for the first time.Free ChatGPT for everyday tasks, with limited access to tools like uploads, images, voice and deep research.
What is included
  • Chat with AI for help with writing, brainstorming, summarizing, and more
  • Get real-time answers based on web search
  • Create images, upload files and more, subject to available capacity and limits
  • Use Copilot in Edge for webpage summarization and insights
  • Chat history, longer conversations and voice interactions when signed in
  • Saved memories you can manage or turn off
  • Unlimited text chats with GPT-6
  • Limited messages with uploads
  • Limited image creation
  • Limited voice chats
  • Limited deep research
  • Limited memory and context
Deep research DiffersNoLimited
Agents DiffersNoLimited
Image creationLimitedLimited
Video creation DiffersNot statedNo
Scheduled tasksNoNo
Memory DiffersYesLimited
Voice chat DiffersYesLimited
App connectors DiffersYesLimited
Chats not used for training by default DiffersYesNo
Usage limits, in their words
"Microsoft offers a limited free version of Copilot subject to available capacity and limits. When you hit a limit, you can choose to upgrade to a paid option or come back later."
Unlimited text chats subject to abuse guardrails. / "Free users have unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse-prevention safeguards. File uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools have separate usage limits."
Billing and fine print
Free with a personal Microsoft account, Google or Apple sign-in. You can use it without signing in, but chat history, image creation, longer conversations and voice need a sign-in. Users without a Microsoft 365 subscription may see ads. "Copilot features, functionality, and availability may vary by region." The app's main URL is now copilot.cloud.microsoft, and old URLs redirect there.
Ads may appear on Free (ad test started in the U.S. on February 9, 2026).
CheckedNov 4, 2026 on support.microsoft.comNov 4, 2026 on chatgpt.com

Who should pick which

Pick Copilot if

  • Your employer runs Microsoft 365. Copilot Chat for work comes with eligible work and school plans ($0 with a work plan), with enterprise data protection.
  • You use Word, Excel and Outlook at home. Microsoft 365 Personal at $9.99/month includes "Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote desktop apps with Microsoft Copilot" and "1 TB of secure cloud storage".
  • You don't want your chats used for training. Microsoft says your Copilot app prompts and responses aren't used to train foundation models. ChatGPT's personal plans use conversations to improve models unless you opt out.
  • You want one plan for the household. Microsoft 365 Family covers "For 1 to 6 people (AI for subscription owner only)".

Every Copilot plan and price →

Pick ChatGPT if

  • You chat a lot without paying. OpenAI says: "Free users have unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse-prevention safeguards. File uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools have separate usage limits." Microsoft says: "Microsoft offers a limited free version of Copilot subject to available capacity and limits. When you hit a limit, you can choose to upgrade to a paid option or come back later."
  • You want deep research without paying much. ChatGPT Free and Go include limited deep research; Copilot's free plan and Microsoft 365 Personal don't include it.
  • You write code. ChatGPT includes Codex, OpenAI's coding agent. Microsoft's home Copilot plans don't list a coding tool.
  • You don't use Microsoft's apps. Much of Copilot's extra value lives inside Word, Excel, Outlook and Teams.

Every ChatGPT plan and price →

For company data, use a work plan. Copilot Business add-on ($25.20/user/month, on top of an eligible Microsoft 365 business plan) and ChatGPT Business (Standard seat) ($25/user/month) both keep business data out of model training by default.

Sources: plan facts from microsoft.com, chatgpt.com and their help centers, through our daily AI Plan Watch, oldest check November 4, 2026. Every AI plan: AI chatbot pricing compared. For information only, not buying advice: confirm prices on each company's site before you pay. HOW TO // AI is independent and not affiliated with Microsoft or OpenAI.

How to use the Copilot vs ChatGPT picker

  1. Pick up to three things you’ll use it for most, like writing, research or coding.
  2. Set what you’d spend each month, or pick “My company pays” for work plans.
  3. Say whether you use Microsoft 365 at work, at home, or not at all. This matters more than anything else here.
  4. Read the reasons, then check the plan table. It jumps to the plans in your budget.
  5. Still close? Unlock the try-both test kit and run the same prompts in both.

Is Copilot the same as ChatGPT?

No. Microsoft Copilot and ChatGPT are separate products from different companies, with their own apps, plans, limits and privacy settings. Microsoft’s business Copilot plans list model choice and priority access to the latest OpenAI models, but you sign up and pay for each separately. GitHub Copilot, the coding agent, is a different product again; this page compares Microsoft’s Copilot assistant with ChatGPT.

Copilot vs ChatGPT: the real differences

From each company’s own pages, as of October 18, 2026:

  • Office apps: Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, Premium and Pro include Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook with Copilot built in. ChatGPT works in its own app.
  • At work: Copilot Chat comes at no extra cost with eligible Microsoft 365 work and school plans, with enterprise data protection. Copilot inside Teams, Word and Excel at work is a paid add-on.
  • Training on your chats: Microsoft says prompts and responses in the Copilot app aren’t used to train foundation models. OpenAI says it may use conversations to improve its models unless you opt out.
  • Free plan limits: OpenAI says ChatGPT Free and Go include unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse safeguards. Microsoft says its free Copilot is subject to available capacity and limits.
  • Research: ChatGPT Free and Go include limited deep research. Copilot’s free plan and Microsoft 365 Personal don’t; Microsoft 365 Premium adds the Researcher and Analyst agents.
  • Coding: ChatGPT includes Codex, OpenAI’s coding agent. Microsoft’s home Copilot plans don’t list a coding tool.

Microsoft 365 Premium vs ChatGPT Plus

At the $20 level the prices are a cent apart ($19.99 and $20 a month in the US as of October 18, 2026), but you get different things. Microsoft 365 Premium bundles the Office apps, shared cloud storage for up to six people (Copilot’s AI features are for the subscription owner only) and Copilot’s Researcher and Analyst agents, and it can be paid yearly. ChatGPT Plus is the AI on its own, with deep research, image creation, agents and Codex, billed monthly.

Copilot or ChatGPT for work data?

If you’ll paste client or company information, use a work account and check your company’s AI policy first. Copilot Chat for work and ChatGPT Business both keep your data out of model training by default, and your IT team may have already chosen one.

Related on HOW TO // AI

Checked against microsoft.com/copilot pricing, OpenAI’s help center (ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Go and ads) and GitHub’s Copilot page on October 18, 2026, plus Microsoft’s support pages and chatgpt.com/pricing as read by our AI Plan Watch on October 17 and 18, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is Copilot the same as ChatGPT?

No. They are separate products from Microsoft and OpenAI, with their own apps, plans and limits. Microsoft's business Copilot plans list priority access to the latest OpenAI models, but you sign up and pay for each separately.

Is Microsoft Copilot free?

Yes. There is a free Copilot app, subject to available capacity and limits, and Copilot Chat comes at no extra cost with eligible Microsoft 365 work and school plans. Copilot inside Word, Excel and Outlook needs a paid Microsoft 365 plan.

Is Copilot better than ChatGPT for work?

If your company runs Microsoft 365, Copilot is the natural fit: Copilot Chat is included with eligible work accounts and Microsoft says your prompts aren't used to train its foundation models. If you need Codex, deep research on a low-cost plan or tools outside Microsoft, ChatGPT may fit better.

Is GitHub Copilot the same as Microsoft Copilot?

No. GitHub Copilot is a separate AI coding agent for your editor, terminal and GitHub. This page compares Microsoft Copilot, the general AI assistant, with ChatGPT.

Does Copilot use my chats to train AI?

Microsoft says prompts, responses and file contents in the Copilot app aren't used to train foundation models. ChatGPT's personal plans may use conversations to improve OpenAI's models unless you opt out in settings.

Scroll to Top